Online book launch: Living through extremes in process drama by Ádám Bethlenfalvy

ONLINE BOOK LAUNCH

Adam Bethlenfalvy: Living Through Extremes in Process Drama

Beside a short introduction to the book you can hear Cecily O’Neill, David Davis, Chris Cooper and Adam Cziboly talk about the questions raised in the publication.

Date: 3rd October 2020. Saturday 15:00 PM CET

9:00 AM in New York, 14:00 PM in Birmingham, 16:00 PM in Athens, 21:00 PM in Beijing.

As this will be a 60 minutes online event you can join us from anywhere in the world.

To receive a link to the online event send an email to living.through.extremes@gmail.com 

Living through extremes in process drama is an exploration of integrating Edward Bond’s theatre theory and practice into the ‘living through’ ap­proach to process drama. Ádám Bethlenfalvy examines the basic com­ponents of the ‘living through’ approach to drama through the analysis of the practice of Dorothy Heathcote, Gavin Bolton, Cecily O’Neill and David Davis. A close examination of drama lessons leads to recognising different structures that lead to some shared elements in the work of these pioneers of drama education. The book also investigates different criti­ques of this approach and identifies key elements that can help practi­tioners and teachers create this kind of process drama. This is followed by an in-depth analysis of the theory and practice of Edward Bond, the con­temporary British playwright, whose aim is to create moments that rupture dominant public discourses and allow the audience to make their own meaning in the gaps within the narrative on stage.

Through a series of drama lessons, the author explores how partici­pants can be supported in making drama of depth on their own with moments that dislocate dominant social explanations from within the narrative, urging those watching or participating to make their own mea­ning of events in the drama. Though the book does not offer ready-made solutions, it offers some exciting new recognitions coming from re-kindling the connection between theatre and drama education.

Ádám Bethlenfalvy: Living Through Extremes in Process Drama

Foreword by David Davis

Published by: Károli Gáspár Református Egyetem / L’Harmattan Hongrie

Year of publication: 2020; 292 pages; ISBN:  978-2-343-20662-2

The book can be ordered at the following links in different countries:

Hungary (only for distribution in Hungary); United Kingdom; Germany; France

Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/751012195472279/

For any further information write to: living.through.extremes@gmail.com