Site B – online seminars exploring key components of ‘being’ in role in process drama

Engaging experientially with the fictional world is central to process drama. The nature of this engagement and the characteristics of the fiction offer a number of important theoretical and practical questions to be discussed by drama practitioners. This series of two hour online seminars discusses some of the key concepts through the analysis of moments of practice in five events led by an international group of experts.

Key elements discussed will be contextualisation, metaxis, protection into role, reflection, artistic form, the extreme and the tragic.

Seminar leaders: Prof. David Davis, Dr. Kostas Amoiropoulos, Chris Cooper, Cao Xi, Dr. Adam Bethlenfalvy (short bio below)

We invite professionals from all relevant areas who use educational drama and theatre with groups in formal and non-formal contexts. The event link and in some cases short, recommended readings related to the topics will be sent out prior to the event.

Session timings:

All events start at 13:00 EST/New York; 18:00 GMT/London; 19:00 CET/Belgrade; 20:00 EET/ Athens, 23:30 IST/New Delhi time.

  • 22nd February, 2023, Wednesday: Prof David Davis – Dr Adam Bethlenfalvy: Sites – ‘reality’ and drama
  • 22nd March, 2023, Wednesday: Cao Xi – Dr Kostas Amoiropoulos: Contextualisation, protection into role
  • 19th April, 2023, Wednesday: Dr Kostas Amoiropoulos – Prof David Davis: ‘Being’ in role, metaxis, exploring from within
  • 17th May, 2023, Wednesday: Dr Adam Bethlenfalvy – Chris Cooper: Use of objects, cathexis
  • 19th July, 2023, Wednesday (re-scheduled date): Chris Cooper – Cao Xi: The extreme, Tragic and the artform of drama

Registration linkhttps://forms.gle/AWkbJJZjaVVLn1Pt9

About the seminar leaders:

Kostas Amoiropoulos is currently working at Oslomet University, Norway, as an associate professor in drama. He is interested in researching mainly the areas of drama in the early years, drama as a context for change, and the development of the art form of drama.

Adam Bethlenfalvy is an associate professor at Károli Gáspár University, Budapest. His main fields of interest in both practice and research are theatre in education and Living Through Drama (Process Drama).

Chris Cooper is a freelance facilitator, drama and theatre educator, playwright and director from the UK.

David Davis has been learning and teaching about drama in education since 1958 and is still learning and sharing.

Cao Xi is an actor, writer, director and drama practitioner from China. He has translated books, articles and plays from English into Mandarin, including Imaging the Real by David Davis.  He is the Creative Director of Drama Rainbow Education Co. and Executive Director of Jian Xue Culture and Education Institute, based in Beijing.

Supported by: